Health and Science Journals
Academic Search Premier (1980’s- ) - Provides full text for more than 4500 publications (3700 which are peer reviewed) covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Ethnic News-Watch – Is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes articles editorials, columns, and reviews which provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
After having searched all the above databases, Check Find Journals & Newspapers - To locate subscriptions that include the journal you are seeking. If you can't find your journals on E-Journal Finder, you can request an interlibrary loan
The University libraries web page includes links to electronic subscriptions on covering a variety of research subjects. Below are some of the featured sources.
Indexes scholarly journals in many medical disciplines; with full text.
Indexes biomedical journals from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Also links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.
Social Sciences Index (1983- ) (Lincoln Park and Loop Campus Libraries- print ONLY)
Indexes articles in all areas of the social sciences, from 350 English-language journals. It covers anthropology, ethnic studies, economics, environment, geography, health, law and criminology, public administration, political science, psychology, sociology, urban studies and women's studies.
Full Set of the Excerpta Medica Abstract Journals contains forty-one printed current awareness journals, each devoted to a specific biomedical topic or discipline covering the entire range of basic and clinical aspects. Every journal contains bibliographic references and abstracts summarizing original articles from primary research and clinical journals. The records are carefully selected from 4,000 journals from 70 countries around the world, which makes the Excerpta Medica Abstract Journals very comprehensive. Furthermore, the journals are easy to browse as each issue contains a contents table, a subject index and an author index, which are cumulated at the end of the volume.
- United States Code (Relevant titles include: Titles 15, 21, 24 and 42)
- Official and annotated codes in print – ( Law Library 5th floor)
- Lexis: Legal > Area of Law-By Topic > Healthcare > Statutes & Regulations > Federal Legislative Materials
- Westlaw: Directory > Statutes > All Federal
- United States Code or http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode
- Health Care Law Sources - Lexis: Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > HealthCare > Analysis, Law Reviews & Journals > Matthew Bender (R) > Health Care Law Sourcebook
- Thomas (for the full text and status of pending and recently enacted health legislation, try a word search in the current Congress)
- Lexis: Legal > Legislation & Politics - U.S. & U.K.> U.S. Congress > Congressional Full Text Bills - Current Congress
- Westlaw (CONG-BILLTXT)
Federal Legislative Histories:
- For some federal health laws, there are compiled legislative histories available in the law library’s collection. These compilations usually include bills, Congressional Record debates, reports and hearings.
- To find a compiled legislative history, try a keyword search in the catalog; such as “food drug and cosmetic act and legislation history.
- Good starting places for legislative history research include the following:
- United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCAAN) (KF48.U53) 5th Floor Stacks
- Thomas (93rd Congress 1973-present)
State Legislative Materials:
· Cornell's Legal Information Institute's State Statutes by Topic: Health links to state health laws by state. The currency of the statutes varies by state.
· BNA publications are another good source of state legislative materials, especially new legislative developments.
o Major Health Care Policies: Fifty State Profiles (RA413.5.U5 H43 2000) provides annual update of significant health issues states addressed in that year.
o Westlaw: SURVEYS database provides 50 state surveys on over 40 health care topics. Sources: National Survey of State Laws, Multi-jurisdictional Survey, and West Surveys. Currency varies.
o National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. The NCSL Web site provides research results on various public policy issues. Sometimes, NCSL provides 50-state analysis.
o Subject Compilations of State Laws (1981- ) [LAW REF. KF1 .F67] is an annotated bibliography listing journal articles or other publications that survey state laws on various topics.
Locating Law Review and Journal Articles
For recent articles, online sources are the most effective. You can use Lexis or Westlaw, for the full text of many (but NOT all) law journals, or you can use online indexes from the Library's database listing to get citations for articles in just about all legal journals.
How to Locate:
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (formerly Index to Legal Periodicals- 1908-1993) [KF8.1561] Citations to articles from over 800 law and law related periodicals and journals; plus over 1400 monographs published in 1993 or later. The Law Library maintains a print copy at the Law Index Table on the 6th floor:
- Westlaw: ILP
- Lexis: Legal > Secondary Legal > Annotations & Indexes > Index to Legal Periodicals
LegalTrac (AKA Legal Resource Index)- Law Library subscription
Cumulative indexing of approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac™ is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac™ also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. Coverage begins in 1980.
Lexis > Legal > Secondary Legal > Annotations & Indexes > Legal Resource Index
If you are using an index that includes only citations, you can obtain the full-text of your articles by doing the following:
The university library also subscribes to many mega-databases which include full-text journal articles; more are increasingly available in. pdf format. Below are some recently added links;
Full-Text Medical Journals (beyond 2 years) LexisNexis Academic
Free Medical Journals Site http://www.freemedicaljournals.com/
- Use the Find Journals & Articles to find electronic journals available either in various mega-databases or directly through different publishers. You can search by title or subject of the journal (not the article) you wish to retrieve, click the resulting search results to connect to the electronic version of that journal and open the correct issue to retrieve your article.