Judiciary Sources
This is the "Statistics" page of the "Researching Topics in Health Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching Topics in Health Law   Tags: health agencies, health law, illinois health law, medcial, nursing, public health law  

Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013 URL: http://law.libguides.depaul.edu/healthlaw Print Guide RSS Updates

Statistics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Sources for gathering statistical data

  • National Center for Health Statistics  is the "Nation's principal health statistics agency." It compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of Americans.

  • Medicaid Statistics and Data-The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) "offers researchers and other health care professionals a broad range of quantitative information on (its) programs, from estimates of further Medicare and Medicaid spending to enrollment, spending, and claims data. CMS also offers a broad range of consumer research to help its partners and staff. 

  • Statehealthfacts.org (Kaiser Family Foundation) provides data on more than 450 health topics across all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Data are collected from a variety of public and private sources, including: original Kaiser Family Foundation reports, data from public Web sites, and information purchased from private organizations.

  • American FactFinder (U.S. Census Bureau) good source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information

  • Health Statistics (MedlinePlus) provides access to statistics and reports from various government agencies and independent organizations related to healthcare.

  • ProQuest Statistical Insight  includes the American Statistics Index (ASI) (1973- ) covering sources from various government departments and agencies; also has a libguide and video tutorial.

  • Statistical Resources on the Web: Health(University of Michigan Documents Center)  provides an annotated list of health statistical sources on the Web. Use the drop down menu to select "Health Sciences". 

Print Sources

    • Index to International Statistics (IIS) (1983- ) which covers sources from various international and regional organizations (R. 310.16 I38- Loop Campus –Non-Circulating)

    • Statistical Reference Index (SRI) (1980- ) which covers sources from different types of associations and organizations. (R. 317.3 S797c-Loop Campus –Non-Circulating
      

    Other Useful Websites

    • Health Law Links (Center for Health Law Studies, Saint Louis University School of Law) lists sites by topic such as antitrust, bioethics; elder law and long-term care; food, drugs, and medical devices; healthcare financing; mental health; pain; patient & government; patient & provider, provider liability, public health law, and telemedicine. It also links to journals and publications, agencies and institutions, etc. 
    • Database on Health and Human Rights Actors (World Health Organization in partnership with the Francois-Xavier Bagnoud Center at the Harvard School of Public Health) contains information about different health and human rights organizations from around the world. All information is gathered from a survey of organizations concerning their structures and programs. You can browse by country or by health program area, or search for particular health program areas in certain countries.

     

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip