Judiciary Sources
This is the "Federal & State Material" page of the "Researching Topics in Health Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching Topics in Health Law   Tags: health agencies, health law, illinois health law, medcial, nursing, public health law  

Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013 URL: http://law.libguides.depaul.edu/healthlaw Print Guide RSS Updates

Federal & State Material Print Page
  Search: 
 

Administrative Sources

 Code of Federal Regulations (KF70.A3) Law library keeps current and 2 years prior in print -5th floor and archived from 1938 in microfiche -4th floor

Federal Register  (KF70.A2 Fifth Floor Stacks (note: older issues archived from 1936 are on microfiche/microfilm 4th floor)

Administrative Rulings

      

    Statutory Sources

    Federal:

    • United States Code (Relevant titles include: Titles 15, 21, 24 and 42)
    • Official and annotated codes in print – ( Law Library 5th floor)
    • Lexis: Legal > Area of Law-By Topic > Healthcare > Statutes & Regulations > Federal Legislative Materials
    • Westlaw: Directory > Statutes > All Federal
    • United States Code http://uscode.house.gov/ or http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode
    • Health Care Law Sources - Lexis: Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > HealthCare > Analysis, Law Reviews & Journals > Matthew Bender (R) > Health Care Law Sourcebook

     Proposed Legislation:

    • Thomas http://thomas.loc.gov (for the full text and status of pending and recently enacted health legislation, try a word search in the current Congress)
    • Lexis: Legal > Legislation & Politics - U.S. & U.K.> U.S. Congress > Congressional Full Text Bills - Current Congress
    • Westlaw (CONG-BILLTXT)

    Federal Legislative Histories:

    • For some federal health laws, there are compiled legislative histories available in the law library’s collection. These compilations usually include bills, Congressional Record debates, reports and hearings.
    • To find a compiled legislative history, try a keyword search in the catolog; such as “food drug and cosmetic act and legislation history.
    • Good starting places for legislative history research include the following:
      • United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCAAN) (KF48.U53) 5th Floor Stacks
      • Thomas http://thomas.loc.gov/ (93rd Congress 1973-present)

    State Legislative Materials:

    ·       Cornell's Legal Information Institute's State Statutes by Topic: Health http://www.law.cornell.edu/topics/state_statutes3.html#health#health  links to state health laws by state. The currency of the statutes varies by state.

    ·       BNA publications are another good source of state legislative materials, especially new legislative developments.

    o   Major Health Care Policies: Fifty State Profiles (RA413.5.U5 H43 2000) provides annual update of significant health issues states addressed in that year.

    o   Westlaw: SURVEYS database provides 50 state surveys on over 40 health care topics. Sources: National Survey of State Laws, Multi-jurisdictional Survey, and West Surveys. Currency varies.

    o   National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) [http://www.ncsl.org] is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. The NCSL Web site provides research results on various public policy issues. Sometimes, NCSL provides 50-state analysis.

    o   State Health Notes (National Conference of State Legislatures) [RA395 .A3 S7] [http://www.statehealthnotes.org/] (December 2003- ) is a biweekly publication designed to deliver health information to state legislators and legislative staff. It offers a national perspective on healthcare issues as well as a network of established key policy contacts in all 50 states. It also offers timely news concerning new bills, laws, proposals and programs.

    o   Subject Compilations of State Laws (1981- ) [LAW REF. KF1 .F67] is an annotated bibliography listing journal articles or other publications that survey state laws on various topics.

        

      Health related Illinois Statutes

      Some significant Illinois health laws are listed here. Citations are to the Illinois Compiled Statutes, linked at the Illinois General Assembly website.

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip