Judiciary Sources
This is the "Treatises, Textbooks, Reference and Encyclopedia" page of the "Researching Topics in Health Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching Topics in Health Law   Tags: health agencies, health law, illinois health law, medcial, nursing, public health law  

Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013 URL: http://law.libguides.depaul.edu/healthlaw Print Guide RSS Updates

Treatises, Textbooks, Reference and Encyclopedia Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Sample titles

Cover Art
American Bioethics - George J. Annas
Call Number: K250:A56
ISBN: 0195169492
Publication Date: 2004-10-28
This book provides an overview of leading issues relating to bioethics and human rights, and bioethics and health law.

Cover Art
Health Law-Practitioner Treatise Series - Barry R. Furrow
Call Number: KF3821 .H415 2000
ISBN: 0314239391
Publication Date: 2000
Two volume treatise aimed at practitioners

Cover Art
Health Care Law and Ethics in a Nutshell - Mark A. Hall; Ira M. Ellman
Call Number: KF3821.Z9 H35 2011
ISBN: 9780314209870
Publication Date: 2011-06-29
Mark A. Hall, (2d ed., 1999), [KF3821 Z9 H35 1999] A very basic and concise overview of the field of health care law.

 

Casebooks

A casebook is usually intended to be the textbook for a law school course. It contains the author's commentary and extensive excerpts from important cases, relevant statutes, in addition to journal articles and other secondary sources. For research purposes, a casebook can be used for a general overview, and because the partial text of selected documents is reprinted, you can quickly get a sense of what are the most important issues in the field. In order to build on what you find in a casebook:

  • check the citations of relevant court opinions in a citator (Shepard's or KeyCite) to find other cases on the same topic
  • search for other books and articles written by the authors whose work is excerpted in the casebook

Although as a rule, DePaul’s Law library does not collect casebooks, some may have been donated by faculty members. Below is an example of a casebook related to health law currently available in the collection:

American Health Law - Law and Business Inc. Staff; George J. Annas
Call Number: KF3821 A7 A46 1990
ISBN: 0316043095
Publication Date: 1990-01-01

 

Looseleaf Sets

Health Law Practice Guide. - American Health Lawyers Association
Call Number: KF3821 .H41
ISBN: 276878385
Publication Date: 2008
Four volume guide, organized into five categories:
1) Operational issues for healthcare facilities,
2) Patient care delivery issues,
3) Payment issues,
4) Transactions, and
5) Special legal concerns in the business environment.

Medicare and Medicaid Guide - Commerce Clearing House
Call Number: KF3608.A4M422
ISBN: 94004613
Publication Date: 1987
Volumes 1-3 provide explanations of Medicare Parts A and B, and Medicaid.
Volume 4 includes Medicaid state plan summaries, federal Medicare and Medicaid Laws (with Social Security Act and USC section cross-reference tables) and related laws.
Volume 5 reproduces federal Medicare and Medicaid regulations.
Volume 6 has all the current development materials: new reports and other documents, new PRRB and HCFA Administrator Decisions, HCFA Manual Revisions Transmittals, adopted regulations, proposed regulations, notices and other issuances published in the Federal Register. Updated weekly.

Health Care and Antitrust Law - John J. Miles
Call Number: KF3825.M527
ISBN: 0876328311
Publication Date: 1992-05-01
This resource analyzes the antitrust issues affecting doctors, hospitals, laboratories, long-term care facilities, and most other health care providers. Volumes 1 and 2 analyze substantive laws, important cases, developments, and proposals. Volumes 3 and 4 compile forms, letters, opinions, and speeches from more than 30 different hard-to-find sources."

Cover Art
Legal Aspects of Health Care Administration - George Pozgar; Nina M. Santucci (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF3821.P69
ISBN: 9780763739270
Publication Date: 2006-12-20
Although designed primarily as a handbook for healthcare administrators, this work offers lawyers a useful overview of the various areas of law which are important in counseling healthcare administrators, including torts, civil procedure, professional and corporate liability issues, consent, AIDS, etc. This book can provide lawyers with background on the complexities of health care administration and the responsibilities of healthcare professionals.

 

Newsletters

Regularly distributed publications which are generally about one main topic, in this instance health law and policy related issues.

Health Law & Business Library - Bloomberg/BNA
Includes:
o Health Care Fraud Report
o Health Care Policy Report
o Health Plan and Provider Report
o Medicare Report

Health Lawyer - American Bar Association
Call Number: K8.E9
ISBN: 07363443
Publication Date: 1982
- a bi-monthly publication, also available through DePaul’s E-Journals and Hein-On-Line.

NBER Bulletin on Aging and Health - National Bureau of Economic Research-Free electronic subscription)
Publication Date: (Fall 2002- )
Summarizes selected Working Papers recently produced as part of the Bureau's program of research in aging and health economics. The Bulletin is intended to make preliminary research results available to economists and others for informational purposes and to stimulate discussion of working Papers before their final publication.

State Health Notes - National Conference of State Legislatures
Publication Date: 2003
An eight-page biweekly publication designed to deliver health information to state legislators and legislative staff. It offers a national perspective on healthcare issues as well as a network of established key policy contacts in all 50 states. It also offers timely news concerning new bills, laws, proposals and programs.

 

Reference Sources for Medical Facts

Medical dictionaries are obviously important for understanding medical terminology. They may also contain other useful information. Other well-respected medical dictionaries found in most medical and some other libraries include:

Cover Art
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary - Newman W. Dorland
Call Number: R121.D67 2000
ISBN: 0721628591
Publication Date: 1994-07-01

Cover Art
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions - Aline Mosby
Call Number: R.610.3M894m2006
ISBN: 0323035620
Publication Date: 2005-10-21

Cover Art
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary - Donald Venes; Clayton L. Thomas
Call Number: R121.T32 1997
ISBN: 0803606540
Publication Date: 2001-02-01

Academy Health Publications - Academy Health
AcademyHealth produces a wealth of publications that are relevant to health services researchers and health policymakers, ranging from newsletters to issue briefs to monographs and special reports. AcademyHealth's publications are key resources in several substantive areas, including health care financing and organization, purchasing, quality improvement, and rural, state, and international health policy.

Cover Art
The American Heritage® Stedman's Medical Dictionary - American Heritage Dictionary Editors (Editor)
Call Number: R. 610.3 A512s2004
ISBN: 0618428992
Publication Date: 2004-09-08

Cover Art
Physicians' Desk Reference, 1991 - Medical Economics
Call Number: R. 615.704 D794A2
ISBN: 1563634457
Publication Date: 1991-01-01


 

Encyclopedias

There are several encyclopedias on health topics for consumers and /or patients (consult a large public library if you need one of these), but not many are used by experts.

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine - Jacqueline L. Longe (Editor); Deirdre S. Blanchfield (Editor); Gale Research Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: R. 616.003 G151o2002
ISBN: 0787654892
Publication Date: 2001-12-12
A comprehensive five volume work with useful illustrations.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Bioethics - Stephen G. Post
Call Number: 174.95703 E56p2003
ISBN: 0028657748
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
A five volume set with comprehensive coverage of bioethics topics

To find other relevant books, search DePaul’s Library Catalog by keyword or by subject heading.

Medical Care - Law and Legislation - United States

Medical Law and Legislation - United States

Managed Care - Law and Legislation - United States - States

Managed Care Plans (Medical Care) - Law and Legislation - United States

Public Health Law - United States

      

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Allen Moye
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip